Violinist and composer Oskar Rieding (1840-1918) was a leading violin

pedagogue who composed a number of violin concertos to help us develop a

good violin technique.

What an exciting concertino! These are the words that many use to describe Rieding’s violin concertino in A minor, op.21. The title description ‘in the Hungarian style’ gives us a hint what the concertino is about. I consider it a long czardas. Do you know what a czardas is? A czardas is a Hungarian folk dance made popular by Gypsy bands in Hungary and neighboring countries. Many classical composers have used the czardas in their music: Franz Liszt, Johannes Brahms, Johann Strauss etc. A czardas is characterized by starting out slowly and then ending in a fast, furore manner. That is the structure and concept of this concertino too. The concertino is written in the 1st and 3rd position and requires a good violin technique. Longer, more difficult virtuoso passages, czardas rhythms will tremendously improve your technical skills and make you a star violinist! Your friends, family, fellow musicians will admire you!

Good luck with your violin studies and have fun playing this concertino!




Level: Intermediate, 1st & 3rd positions


Why play this concertino?


  • Improves your 1st and 3rd position playing skills
  • Learn virtuoso playing style
  • Learn how to phrase the Hungarian czardas


What is included?


  • Violin music sheets for the whole concertino

Oskar Rieding: Concertino in A minor, op.21 for Violin and Orchestra

VAT Included